You are here: Home Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the End the Wait Campaign?

The End the Wait Campaign is a statewide issue campaign working to educate the public and policymakers about why Kansas needs to take bold action in order to end the Developmental Disability (DD) Waiting Lists.  The End the Wait Campaign is a collaborative project of the Disability Rights Center of Kansas (DRC) and numerous stakeholders, funded through a generous grant by the Kansas Council on Developmental Disabilities (KCDD).  The ultimate goal of the End the Wait Campaign is to successfully end all Waiting Lists for the Developmental Disability (DD) Waiver.

How do I join the End the Wait Campaign?

To join the End the Wait Campaign you can visit our Web site at and fill out the form on the site.  You may also call Tim Wood at the End the Wait Campaign office in Topeka Voice: 785.273.9661 ext.110, Toll Free:  877.776.7541 or Toll Free TDD:  877.335.3725 to request to join the campaign if you do not currently have access to the internet.

What is a Developmental Disability?

A Development Disability (DD) is a disability that occurs before the age of 22, is likely to continue indefinitely, and results in substantial limitation of 3 or more daily living activities.

Some examples of Developmental Disabilities are intellectual/cognitive disability (formerly referred to as Mental Retardation), Cerebral Palsy (CP), Autism, and various forms of genetic and chromosomal disorders.

Who is eligible for HCBS-DD Waiver services administered by Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)?

Eligibility Requirements:

  • 5 years of age or older
  • Eligible for Medicaid
  • Meeting the definition developmental disability
  • Eligible for ICF/MR (institutional) level of care

Individuals are screened for waiver eligibility only after they have been determined to be developmentally disabled as defined in K.S.A. 39-1803.

"Developmental disability" means:

(1) Intellectual disability; or

(2) a severe, chronic disability, which:

(A) Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment, a combination of mental and physical impairments or a condition which has received a dual diagnosis of intellectual disability and mental illness;

(B) is manifest before 22 years of age;

(C) is likely to continue indefinitely;

(D) results, in the case of a person five years of age or older, in a substantial limitation in three or more of the following areas of major life functioning: Self-care, receptive and expressive language development and use, learning and adapting, mobility, self-direction, capacity for independent living and economic self-sufficiency;

(E) reflects a need for a combination and sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic care, treatment or other services which are lifelong, or extended in duration and are individually planned and coordinated; and

(F) does not include individuals who are solely and severely emotionally disturbed or seriously or persistently mentally ill or have disabilities solely as a result of the infirmities of aging.

(g) "Institution" means state institution for people with intellectual disability as defined by subsection (c) of K.S.A. 76-12b01, and amendments thereto, or intermediate care facility for people with intellectual disabilities of nine beds or more as defined by subsection (a)(4) of K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto.

(h) "Intellectual disability" means substantial limitations in present functioning that is manifested during the period from birth to age 18 years and is characterized by significantly sub average intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior including related limitations in two or more of the following applicable adaptive skill areas: Communication, self-care, home living, social skills, community use, self-direction, health and safety, functional academics, leisure and work.

Once a determination of a developmental disability has been made, a Developmental Disabilities Profile (DDP) is created.  A DDP is an assessment instrument designed to provide information concerning an individual’s functional abilities in three index areas; adaptive functioning, maladaptive behaviors and health. The DDP will generate three scores, one for each index area, which are then combined to produce a converted score.  The higher the DDP score, the greater level of perceived disability. The DDP score has a direct impact on funding and assists in identifying support needs so that the individual can have the necessary supports, but not more than are needed.

Are HCBS-DD Waiver Services an Entitlement?

Unfortunately, under section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, Medicaid law authorizes the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to waive certain Medicaid statutory requirements.  These waivers enable States to cover a broad array of home and community-based services (HCBS) for targeted populations as an alternative to institutionalization.  Waiver services may be optional State Plan services which either are not covered by a particular State or which enhance the State’s coverage.  Waivers may also include services not covered through the State Plan such as respite care, environmental modifications, or family training.

How do I apply for HCBS-DD Waiver Services?

The “single point of entry” into the HCBS-MR/DD Waiver in Kansas is through your local Community Developmental Disabilities Organization (CDDO). CDDO staff will determine eligibility and help the person and/or their family access services from a variety of Community Service Providers (CSP's).

How many people receive services in the DD system?

As of April 7, 2011 there were 8971 receiving services within all 27 CDDO areas. This represents an increase of 183 the beginning of FY 2011.

What are the various community based services that are funded through the HCBS-DD Waiver?

  • Assistive Services: Wheelchair Modifications, Van Lifts (including repair and maintenance), Communication Devices, Home Modifications
  • Day Supports (Transportation Costs are not covered by this service)
  • Medical Alert - examples of medical needs that may require this service include:
    • Quadriplegia
    • Severe heart conditions
    • Difficulty to control diabetes
    • Severe convulsive disorders
    • COPD
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Sleep Cycle Support
  • Specialized Medical Care
  • Personal Assistant Services
  • Residential Supports
  • Supported Employment
  • Supportive Home Care
  • Overnight Respite Care
  • Wellness Monitoring



What is the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)?

The Kansas Department on Aging (KDOA) has merged with programs from the Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services (SRS) and the Department Health and the Environment (KDHE) under an executive order by Governor Sam Brownback in order to streamline the delivery of state services.

The new department became the KANSAS DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND DISABILITY SERVICES (KDADS) on July 1, 2012.

All of the disability services programs that were formerly housed in SRS now operate out of KDADS. Some licensure programs previously part of KDHE are also incorporated into KDADS.